Here's How Long Each MotoGP Rider Has A Contract For

Categories:   MotoGP 

Following Fabio Quartararo’s rather surprising contract extension with Yamaha, we compiled a handy guide to how long each MotoGP rider has a contract for.

There’s still a whole load of announcements to come so keep an eye on MGP1 so you don’t miss a single thing of MotoGP’s silly season!

Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team)

With the 2023 championship title sealed and potential for many more race wins and title fights, Francesco Bagnaia’s contract extension with Ducati was no surprise to anyone. The Italian dream team will work together until the end of 2026…for now.

Enea Bastianini (Ducati Lenovo Team)

Enea Bastianini is contracted to Ducati until the end of the 2024 MotoGP season. Rumors that Aprilia would be interested in La Bestia, should championship runner-up Jorge Martin push him out of his Ducati factory seat, could spice up the 2024 MotoGP silly season.

Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Factory Team)

At KTM’s home Grand Prix at the Red Bull Ring in 2023, Brad Binder and the Mattighofen-based manufacturer agreed on a contract extension until the end of 2026. It will be the years 10,11 and 12 within the KTM ranks for the South African and, to be fair, we can’t think of a reason why the would break up after that.

Jack Miller (Red Bull KTM Factory Team)

Jack Miller will stay with KTM until the end of 2024. However, given Pedro Acosta is pushing hard for the factory KTM seat, he will have to up the ante if he wants to keep the seat in the Austrian outfit after 2024.

Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing)

At the age of 34, Aleix Espargaro is the oldest MotoGP rider on the grid. The Spaniard has a contract with Aprilia until the end of 2024 and has already hinted at a possible end to his career after the contract expires.

Maverick Vinales (Aprilia Racing)

Just like his teammate Maverick Vinales is contracted to Aprilia until the end of 2024

Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP)

Rather surprisingly and despite the Yamaha being far from contention at the start of the 2024 season, Fabio Quartararo renewed his contract with the Japanese manufacturer for another two years. The Frenchman will stay in blue until the end of 2026.

Alex Rins (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP)

Following his one-year stint on the LCR Honda, Alex Rins is back with a factory team as the Spaniard secured a one-year deal with Yamaha. The Spaniard will stay with the Japanese until the end of 2024.

Luca Marini (Repsol Honda Team)

Following the premature Marquez-Honda split, Luca Marini made the switch into the Repsol-sponsored team ahead of the 2024 season. Following his dream of becoming a MotoGP factory rider, the Italian signed a two-year deal, running until the end of 2025, with the Japanese outfit.

Joan Mir (Repsol Honda Team)

Just like his teammate Joan Mir has a running contract with Honda until the end of 2024. To secure himself a spot in MotoGP for the time after the current paper, the 2020 World Champion will have to up the ante though.

Jorge Martin (Prima Pramac Racing)

Having full factory support in the Pramac satellite team, the Spaniard explained he has no reason to change his current situation. But given Enea Bastianini’s factory Ducati seat could be up for grabs, the 2023 runner-up will have a clear target for 2025. Martin is contracted to Ducati until the end of 2024.

Franco Morbidelli (Prima Pramac Racing)

Following two rough years with Yamaha, Franco Morbidelli (more or less) lucked himself into the Pramac Ducati seat. However with his one-year running until the end of 2024 and rumors, Fermin Aldeguer is set for the 2025 Pramac Ducati spot, the Italian will have to show he’s still of podium and race-win caliber.

Marco Bezzecchi (Pertamina Enduro VR46 Racing Team)

One of the hotter assets for the upcoming silly season, Marco Bezzecchi is contracted to VR46 until the end of 2024. With the factory Ducati seat likely going to either Jorge Martin or Enea Bastianini, Bezzecchi will look to climb up the ranks within the Ducati MotoGP construct. A Pramac move could be on the cards for 2025.

Fabio Di Giannantonio (Pertamina Enduro VR46 Racing Team)

Being pushed out of his Gresini seat by Marc Marquez, Fabio Di Giannatonio secured a late, one-year deal with VR46. He will stay with the team until at least the end of 2024.

Alex Marquez (Gresini Racing MotoGP)

After a first sprint win in MotoGP at the British Grand Prix there was no way past a contract extension for Alex Marquez. The Spaniard will continue with Gresini Racing until the end of 2024.

Marc Marquez (Gresini Racing MotoGP)

With the blockbuster move of the decade, Marc Marquez made the switch from long-term companion Honda over to Gresini Racing to form a dream team with his brother. Like Alex, the eight-time World Champion is contracted to Gresini until the end of 2024.

Johann Zarco (LCR Honda CASTROL)

Following his departure from Pramac Ducati, Johann Zarco was able to sign a two-year deal with Honda until the end of 2025. However, being on the latter end of his premier-class career, the Frenchman will likely have to look at another series after his current paper runs out.

Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda)

In the midst of a rather disappointing season and a bit of chaos during silly season, Takaaki Nakagami secured himself another year with LCR Honda as the Japanese and the team agreed on another one-year deal, extending Nakagami’s MotoGP stint until at least the end of 2024.

Miguel Oliveira (Trackhouse Racing MotoGP)

Having split with KTM at the end of 2022, Miguel Oliveira found a new home in the Trackhouse Racing satellite team. The Portuguese is contracted to Aprilia until the end of 2024 and will look to find a way into the Aprilia factory team for 2025.

Raul Fernandez (Trackhouse Racing MotoGP)

Having split with Tech3 at the end of 2022, Raul Fernandez found a new home in the Trackhouse Racing satellite team. The Spaniard is contracted to Aprilia until the end of 2024.

Pedro Acosta (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3)

Taking his option to extend his KTM contract at the end of 2023, Pedro Acosta will remain within the Austrian’s structure until the end of 2024. Should he perform like most expect him to, he will likely end up replacing Miller in the KTM factory team.

Augusto Fernandez (Tech3 GASGAS Factory Racing)

Augusto Fernandez has a KTM contract until the end of 2024 and, with the Spaniard delivering a great rookie season on the RC-16, there’s no reason not to keep Fernandez within their lineup for even longer

Recent Posts

Follow MGP1 on Our Socials!

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap